de | en | fr

Organisations; companies

Organisations are living systems. Basically they are capable of adapting to market situations, to the environment, to the partners they work with and to their staff – continually and often without any noticeable effort. They do this using the values, steering mechanisms and behavioural methods that are particular to them and that they have adopted over the years.

Sometimes, however, this continual process of adaptation is not sufficient to successfully deal with the challenges they face. The methods used thus far are no longer appropriate for the requirements of the market; the company and the demands of the market need to be re-balanced. Breaches or crises arise around them or within the organisation which require specific reactions; companies or parts of companies with a different corporate culture are merged; new people with new ideas arrive and cause unrest and resistance.

In such situations one cannot assume that everything will automatically come right. In order to keep the organisation on track it can be sufficient to review and modify its economic and strategic management tools. It may, however, require a comprehensive procedure to deal with the new challenges, to re-examine the company’s values and behaviour patterns and to carefully plan and implement the necessary changes.

We offer organisations and companies the necessary support for reviewing their management tools as well as for devising and designing procedures for introducing changes. We run workshops and we coach project managers, executives and teams in how to manage and deal with change.

In all our consultancy work, be it with management groups, teams or individuals, we take into account the history, the culture as well as the environment of the organisation as a whole.

Gertrud Germann

onion: Organisationsberatung

After almost 30 years I’m stepping back from my professional activities as an organizational consultant. Still staying interested in all those themes around humans and organizations, I will continue to discuss actual situations and new solutions with my colleagues in the onion: network.

Professional background

  • Since 2012 continuous retirement from active consulting, extra-professional activity as proofreader and corrector at NZZ am Sonntag (Neue Zürcher Zeitung)
  • Independent organisational consultant since 1998, as partner in onion: Consultancy Network
  • Director of the Informationsstelle des Zürcher Sozialwesens (1996–1998)
  • Management consultant and coach at BWI Management Weiterbildung, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (1989–1995)
  • Various positions as secretary, clerk and project team member in major IT projects in different branches (entertainment industry, commerce, insurance; 1977–1989)
  • Teaching: German, history and civics at the Lernstudio in Zurich (1975–1976)

Educational background

  • Long lasting and continuous intervision and supervision with my tutor Dr. Wolfgang Looss
  • Diploma in organisational development, SGMI Management Institute St. Gallen (1991–1993)
  • Advanced course in organisation, Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Organisation und Management SGO (1988–1989)
  • Various courses in staff and company management, communication, systemic consulting, conflict management, psychology (1990–2009)
  • M.A. in germanistics and history from the Universities of Zurich and Munich (1968–1974)

Miscellaneous information

de | en | fr

Organisation / Unternehmen

Organisationen sind lebendige Gebilde. Sie sind grundsätzlich fähig, sich den Bedingungen des Marktes, der Umwelt, der Kooperationspartner und der Mitarbeitenden anzupassen – laufend und oft ohne besonderen Kraftakt. Sie tun dies mit den ihnen eigenen, im Laufe ihrer Geschichte gewachsenen Werten, Steuerungsmechanismen und Verhaltensweisen.

Manchmal aber genügt dieser laufende Anpassungsprozess nicht, um die Herausforderungen der Umwelt erfolgreich zu bewältigen: Die bisherigen Muster werden den Erfordernissen des Marktes nicht mehr gerecht; es treten im Umfeld oder in der Organisation Brüche oder Krisen auf, die gezielte Reaktionen erfordern; Unternehmen oder Unternehmensteile mit unterschiedlichen Kulturen werden zusammengelegt; neue Leute mit neuen Ideen treffen ein und lösen Unruhe und Widerstand aus.

In solchen Situationen kann man sich nicht darauf verlassen, dass sich alles automatisch wieder regeln werde. Um die Organisation auf Kurs zu halten, kann es genügen, die betriebswirtschaftlichen und strategischen Führungsinstrumente zu überprüfen und anzupassen. Es kann aber auch ein umfassender Prozess notwendig sein, um sich mit den neuen Anforderungen auseinanderzusetzen, über die eigenen Werte und Verhaltensmuster nachzudenken und notwendige Veränderungen sorgfältig zu planen und umzusetzen.

Wir unterstützen Organisationen und Unternehmen bei der Überprüfung der Führungsinstrumente sowie bei der Gestaltung und Strukturierung von Veränderungsprozessen. Wir moderieren Workshops, und wir coachen Projektleitende, Führungspersonen und Teams in der Leitung und im Umgang mit Veränderungen.

Wir beziehen bei allem, was wir als Beraterinnen und Berater tun, sei es mit Führungsgremien, Teams oder einzelnen Personen, die Geschichte und die Kultur der gesamten Organisation sowie deren Umfeld mit ein.

Gertrud Germann

onion: Organisationsberatung

Nach fast 30 Jahren Tätigkeit ziehe ich mich aus der aktiven Beratung zurück. Da mich aber die Fragen und Herausforderungen der Organisationsberatung nach wie vor sehr interessieren und ich darin auch viel Erfahrung habe, denke ich weiterhin im Rahmen des onion: Netzwerks zusammen mit meinen Kolleginnen und Kollegen über Situationen und Lösungswege in der Organisationsberatung nach.

Berufliche Stationen

  • Seit 2012 allmählicher Rückzug aus der aktiven Organisationsberatung, meine nebenberufliche Arbeit als Korrektorin bei der «NZZ am Sonntag» führe ich weiter.
  • Seit 1998 selbständige Organisationsberaterin, Partnerin im onion: Netzwerk für Beratung
  • Geschäftsleiterin der Informationsstelle des Zürcher Sozialwesens (1996–1998)
  • Unternehmensberaterin und Managementtrainerin an der Stiftung BWI, ETH Zürich (1989–1995)
  • Arbeit als Sekretärin, Sachbearbeiterin, Projektmitarbeiterin in grossen EDV-Projekten in verschiedenen Branchen (Unterhaltungsindustrie, Handel, Versicherung (1977–1989)
  • Lehrtätigkeit in Deutsch, Geschichte und Staatskunde am Lernstudio Zürich (1975–1976)

Aus- und Weiterbildung

  • Jahrelange, regelmässige Intervision und Supervision bei meinem Lehrer Dr. Wolfgang Looss
  • Zertifikat in Organisationsentwicklung, Management-Zentrum St. Gallen (1993)
  • Weiterbildung als Organisatorin, SGO (1989)
  • Diverse Weiterbildungen in den Bereichen MitarbeiterInnen- und Unternehmensführung, Kommunikation, Systemische Beratung, Konfliktmanagement, Psychologie (1990–2009)
  • Studium der Germanistik und Geschichte an den Universitäten Zürich und München, Lizentiat (1974)

Ausserdem